Friday, July 29, 2005

The four-division NHL

It has been rumoured that the NHL could go back to four divisions (not for this season, but in the future), something that I think sounds like a great idea. So, just for fun, here are my and Cousin BJ's four divisions:

Orr Conference
Patrick Division. Atlanta, Carolina, Florida, New Jersey, NY Rangers, NY Islanders, Tampa Bay, Washington

Adams Division. Boston, Buffalo, Montreal, Ottawa, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Toronto

Howe Conference
Norris Division. Chicago, Columbus, Dallas, Detroit, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis

Smythe Division. Anaheim, Calgary, Colorado, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

The difficult thing is who to lump in with the East Coast's southern markets. Putting in the New York teams at least guarantees there is some semblance of tradition, even though this may perhaps give short shrift to the Rangers as an Original Six team. If you've got a better solution, fill me in.

It's interesting to note that in 1989-90, only 18 of the 30 current NHL cities had teams. A lot changes in 15 years.


At 10:27 p.m., July 29, 2005, Blogger Phil said...

East Conference One: Rangers, Isles, Devils, Flyers, Pens, Carolina, Washington

Two: Boston, Buffalo, Montreal, Toronto, Atlanta, Tampa, Florida, Ottawa

That's how I would do it.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker