Monday, April 24, 2006

The 2006 Masterton Trophy nominees

UPDATE Can anyone fill in the missing players?

UPDATE The names in bold have been added to the list here. Here's also a complete list of past winners.

I haven't seen the full list for Masteron Trophy nominees, but a few local chapters of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association have submitted their picks. Here's who is listed so far (and I'll post everyone when I get my hands on that info):

  1. Anaheim: Teemu Selanne
  2. Atlanta: Scott Mellanby
  3. Boston: Tim Thomas
  4. Buffalo: Tim Connolly
  5. Calgary: Stephane Yelle
  6. Carolina: Bret Hedican
  7. Chicago: Curtis Brown
  8. Columbus: Duvie Westcott
  9. Detroit: Chris Chelios
  10. Edmonton: Rem Murray
  11. Florida: Joe Nieuwendyk
  12. Los Angeles: Luc Robitaille
  13. Minnesota: Wes Walz
  14. Montreal: Cristobal Huet
  15. N.Y. Islanders: Joel Bouchard
  16. N.Y. Rangers: Kevin Weekes
  17. Ottawa: Dany Heatley
  18. Philadelphia: Brian Savage
  19. Phoenix: Curtis Joseph
  20. Pittsburgh: John LeClair
  21. San Jose: Scott Thornton
  22. Tampa Bay: Sean Burke
  23. Toronto: Jason Allison
  24. Vancouver: Anson Carter
Generally, the winner is a player who has recovered from a serious injury (i.e. 2004 winner Bryan Berard, or Patrik Elias, who may win this year), but Robitaille seems like as good a candidate as any for his work housing victims of the hurricane Katrina disaster in New Orleans.


At 5:14 p.m., April 10, 2006, Blogger sacamano said...

Are there any regulations about number of games played?

If not, my vote goes to Rem the Gem.

At 5:24 p.m., April 10, 2006, Blogger James Mirtle said...

No. In 2004, New Jersey Devils' tough guy Rob Skrlac, he of eight games career NHL experience, was their nominee. (Skrlac, coincidentally, is a former Kamloops Blazer.)

Good pick, Sack. I'm sure Murray will be the Oilers' nominee.

At 12:47 a.m., April 11, 2006, Blogger Jes Gőlbez said...

Luc would likely get consideration for the KING CLANCY Trophy for his charity work, since this is dedication to hockey and the Clancy is for outside works...

Elias coming back from a life threatening illness is a good candidate as is Rem, but this award is hard to vote against people for.

At 3:27 a.m., April 18, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Sadly, no one bothered housing displaced Iraqi families.

At 7:12 p.m., April 18, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

When is the winner announced? Go Rem!

At 5:11 p.m., May 04, 2006, Anonymous Oooh Aaah Sabres on the Warpath said...

Tim Connolly.

Missed two seasons ago due to a concussion. Came back with his best year.

At 12:37 p.m., May 05, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

It would be ludicrous if Elias didn't win it.

At 10:45 a.m., June 23, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Who were the three finalists, I cannot find that info anywhere on the web.

This trophy shouldn't be based on team loyalties, it should be based on what it is for.

I don't see how Rem Murray didn't get it for all that he went through. It is amazing that he is simply living a normal life, let alone competing at the highest level in his sport.

Tommy Albelin and Tim Thomas are two others that really seemed like they went through a lot. I really don't understand how Teemu won this or was even a finalist.

It seems too often that some of the meaning of some awards become skewered and they are more like a popularity contest than anything.......


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker