Spyware invasion
DevilsRule.com offers a link to my thoughts on the Vladimir Malakhov deal from last night, but they package with it an ominous warning:
Mirtle.blogspot.comIs this happening for anyone else? And who are 'they'?
Devils swap dead weight for Korolyuk Beware, they ask you to download something to gain access to the article but if you close it a few times then it shuts down.





9 Comments:
No problem fo me, using latest version of Firefox.
It happened to me when I was using IE a couple of times. It's listed as some sort of Flash-like program. If the pop-up doesn't show up sometimes the page becomes unclickable, but if it does and you just close it then it's fine.
Again, doesn't show up with latest version of Firefox though.
I didn't know that you didn't know about this.
The program I get all the time (every time on IE but occasionally even on Firrefox) is something called "Seekmo"
You click close and it goes away, but it comes up probably 50% of the time when I load the page. It's been happening for months.
I figured it was some inncuous Java thing you had installed.
It's annoying, but I cancel the program out of instinct now so I don't notice it.
Well, that's got to be a real traffic boon.
Okay techie friends, how do I get rid of this nonsense?
I have Flashblocker installed in Firefox, and it never blocks anything here.
I also have Adblock, and, among the elements it could block, the only suspicious ones to me are the Sitecounter and Technorati links. Google and Blogger are, in base, pretty low-tech, so I'd suspect your add-ons.
That happened once for me. There was a recent vunerability for Internet Explorer where just by visiting a website you could have downloaded spyware.
IE released a patch. Not sure why it would pop up while visiting your site though.
http://blog.washingtonpost.com/securityfix/
Seekmo is a nasty little piece of spyware. Making sure you are fully updated on Windows, plus a good pop-up blocker, should be all the defence you need. Hopefully by now, people realize that anything like this that pops up on your screen is an invitation to disaster.
It's times like this that I'm glad I do my hockey blog reading on a Mac.
i use IE, check your site daily, and have never seen this popup.
Post a Comment
<< Home