Thursday, December 07, 2006

Pierre-Marc Bouchard vs. Nikolai Khabibulin

Here's the shootout goal from Tuesday night's game between Minnesota and Chicago that has everyone talking today.

10 Comments:

At 6:15 PM, December 07, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I've made that move... in my dreams.

 
At 6:44 PM, December 07, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I hate that move.
Sincerely,
Corey Hirsch

 
At 9:54 PM, December 07, 2006, Anonymous ken said...

Upon further review of the play, you have to admit that Khabibulin did not look as though he was very happy with the contact. I can't say I blame Brodeur for sticking up for the goalies and asking the league for some clarification as to what is permitted and what is not.

It is bad enough that the goalies are forced to win the game for the team on a breakaway, let alone having to deal with 'crashing the net' in such a situation.

 
At 7:10 AM, December 08, 2006, Anonymous rob said...

i was watching the game and - as one of the likely 12 others watching across the country - was stunned at the move. never even occurred to me at the time that it could have been illegal, until i was discussing it online the next day when a particularly astute friend asked how that wasn't interference. so i did a little research. He might be right.

Here are situations in the rulebook that might be applicable:

Official NHL rule 78.5 - Disallowed Goals.

Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee...for the following reasons:

(v): When an attacking player has interfered with a goalkeeper in his goal crease.

the logical follow-up question is "what is interference...."

Table 18 - Rule 69 - Interference on the Goalkeeper

Situation 1C could certainly have been applied:

SITUATION: An attacking player makes incidental contact with the goalkeeper [who is in his crease] at the same time a goal is scored
RESULT: Goal is disallowed


even though the contact in question really didn't affect the goal at all - and i hate the idea of taking creativity away from the game - but the way i read this the goal should not have been allowed. There's not much room for argument as to whether Bouchard made "incidental" contact in the crease - he did.

 
At 8:35 AM, December 08, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

1) Are we the only ones who are getting just little sick and tired of Martin Brodeur griping?
2) Last month it was the tinted visor of Alex Ovechkin. Before that complaining about the changes in goalie equiptment size, etc
3) As we write about in our blog: 'Hey Marty, shut up and play!'

 
At 11:03 AM, December 08, 2006, Blogger alyosha mcbain said...

2 thoughts: first, while totally sweet, this move STILL doesn't top Marek Malik's 'tween the legs top corner beauty against Olie Kolzig. Secondly, is there anything that happens offensively in the NHL that Marty Brodeur does approve of? Short of marrying your sister-in-law, of course--Marty is not offended by that sort of thing, just tinted visors and fantastic athletic goal-scoring moves. He's such a great human being, a flagship athlete for a flagship franchise in the NHL.

 
At 1:33 PM, December 08, 2006, Blogger Brushback said...

Short of marrying your sister-in-law, of course-- Marty is not offended by that sort of thing

*smirk*

 
At 2:09 PM, December 08, 2006, Anonymous Anonymous said...

It's possible that, being a member of the competition committee, Brodeur is merely the conduit for goalies' grievances. Like a shop steward. Being the best goalie in the league, I doubt he cares personally about this nickle & dime stuff.

 
At 2:22 PM, December 08, 2006, Anonymous Scott Mobus said...

I thought that in a shoot out or on a penalty shot the attacking player had to keep forward momentum. On a spin around, I dont believe there is forward momentum once the turn is initiated, and certainly not at the point he released the shot. By that time he definitely had lost forward momentum. Not to mention the goalie interference.

 
At 5:10 PM, December 08, 2006, Anonymous nick said...

Goal would have been a lot prettier if he had managed it without running over 'Bulin. I don't think it should have counted.. feat of athleticism or not, he interfered with the goalie and it was pretty clear it should have been disallowed.

How would you feel if it was your team's goalie being run over on a shootout goal? I think Marty's right on the money.

 

Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


.

Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker