Sunday, June 03, 2007

Search begins for new PA head

The NHL Players’ Association has named Eric Lindros of the Dallas Stars, Shawn Horcoff of the Edmonton Oilers and Bryan Muir of the Washington Capitals to an advisory committee to begin the search for a leader to replace the fired Ted Saskin.

The players will meet with heads of unions and corporations for ideas on the qualities they should look for in candidates for the union’s top job, an NHLPA spokesman said.
— Canadian Press


At 12:59 a.m., June 04, 2007, Anonymous swabbubba said...

The RCMP commisioner is available. If they actually are seriuos about being a union maybe Buzz Hargrove from CAW would be the guy.

At 1:52 p.m., June 04, 2007, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Bet the new head will be Donald Fehr, the former head of the baseball players association, and the only professional players group to prevent a salary cap from being imposed.

His first objective will be to try to "chip away" at the cap at the next collective bargaining date. This could be achieved by allowing each team to exempt one "franchise player" from the cap limit. Second, a two teir cap could be established with the existing cap $44 million, being the first level, after which a team would pay a luxury tax, up to a hard second cap of $54 million. All luxury taxes would be paid into revenue sharing for the poorer teams.

I believe that within a year or two many of the big market teams (NY, Detroit, Phil. Toronto) will be very receptive to these proposals and many of the smaller teams, seeing that "the cap" has not solved their financial problems, will be receptive to the luxury tax providing them more revenues.

Fehr, has the skills necessary to drive a wedge between these teams and Bettman.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker