Tuesday, December 11, 2007

Crosby named athlete of year

Pittsburgh Penguins star Sidney Crosby won the 2007 Lou Marsh Award on Tuesday, the first hockey player to capture the honour since 1993.

The award, decided by a panel of sports editors and broadcasters, is given annually to Canada's outstanding athlete by the Toronto Star.

Other finalists were Phoenix Suns star Steve Nash of Victoria, alpine skier Erik Guay of Mont-Tremblant, Que., kayaker Adam van Koeverden of Oakville, Ont., and boxer Steve Molitor of Sarnia, Ont.
What I find hard to believe is that a hockey player hasn't won in 14 years, but congrats to Sidney.

Crosby is the eighth NHLer to win the thing, and Wayne Gretzky won four in a short span between 1982 and 1989. Others include Bobby Orr, Phil Esposito, Bobby Clarke, Guy Lafleur and Mario Lemieux, who each won it once.

Skiers, figure skaters and swimmers have won it five or more times.


At 2:44 p.m., December 11, 2007, Blogger FAUX RUMORS said...

1) No surprise, and probably the first of many.

At 5:24 p.m., December 11, 2007, Anonymous Anonymous said...

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

At 9:04 a.m., December 13, 2007, Anonymous BDH said...

what does it take to have Mirtle delete one of your comments anyways?


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker