Tuesday, February 05, 2008

Who has Hart?

A look at the results from a Hart Trophy poll over the weekend.

The 'other' option above are write-in candidates, who ranged from Alex Kovalev to Evgeni Malkin to Jody Shelley. The 12 per cent of the vote not shown here went to the nine players on the ballot not listed, who all received 2 per cent or less.

Personally, I think it's fairly safe to say one of the top four in this list will win the Hart Trophy this season, with Alex Ovechkin having a much more difficult time if his team misses the playoffs. If the Capitals are in and he stays on this run, he just might be as close to a lock as you can get.

That said, the support for Nick Lidstrom continues to grow, and today his coach Mike Babcock voiced his support for that choice. At 37, this may be the final chance for him to win the league MVP, and I'd consider him in second spot at the moment.

Defencemen really don't win the award often enough.

As for Daniel Alfredsson and Jarome Iginla, well, it's going to be up to them. The Senators have struggled lately and Iginla's in a goal-scoring drought, but if either has a hot finish, perhaps we're talking about them along with Ovechkin and Lidstrom.

Those four received 75 per cent of the total votes, and that's not discounting the ones for "southeastern confrence goaltenders," "Sean Avery," and "Dustin Brown."



At 2:31 p.m., February 05, 2008, Anonymous Dan said...

I'd say Jarmoe is out of the running. The MVP can't go 10 games without a goal in the heart of the season.

At 2:48 p.m., February 05, 2008, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Where is Rick Nash on you list? Typical anit-Columbus Canadian journalist rubbish.

PS - Just kidding.

At 3:17 p.m., February 05, 2008, Blogger FAUX RUMORS said...

1) The position that gets screwed with regard to Hart consideration is The most important, the goalie.
2) We haven't seen too many goalies in recent years actually win the Hart Trophy. The last being Jose Theodore in 2002.
3) Dominick Hasek won the award back to back in 97 and 98 backstopping his undermanned Sabres to the playoffs, and from there you have to go back to Jacques Plante in 1962!
4) A couple of goalies won it before Plante, but in the 82 year history of the award, it has gone to a mere 6 goalies! Its difficult to imagine that so few of the players from the most important position weren't worthy.

At 3:19 p.m., February 05, 2008, Anonymous Eric said...

Lidstrom deserves to win this award at least once in his career, for Christ's sake, but I think playing on a team with another candidate (Zetterberg) really hurts his chances. That said, if Ovechkin carries the Caps into the postseason with a 65-goal performance, he's a shoo-in.

At 4:52 p.m., February 05, 2008, Anonymous ken said...

Right now I'd have to say it's a toss-up between Ovechkin and Alfredsson, with the rest of the season to tell the tale (hopefully Alfie won't miss too much time).

Lidstrom's a distant -- although deserving -- third.

At 2:15 p.m., February 06, 2008, Anonymous Anonymous said...

I work for espn.com and came up with some formulas to predict who will win all the major NHL awards including Hart. I ran the formulas on the past 6 seasons and they were able to predict the winners each time (and runner ups almost every time). Lidstrom is currently leading the Hart race but the rankings update every night based on the latest stats. Thought you might find it interesting. Here's the link.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker