Friday, March 21, 2008

Coyotes give award vote to fans

The Phoenix Coyotes announced today that they will leave it up to the fans to decide who they believe is the hardest working player of the 2007-08 season.

Players nominated for the Hardest Working Player Award include forwards Shane Doan (#19), Mathias Tjarnqvist (#22), Craig Weller (#12) and Daniel Winnik (#34) and defensemen Keith Ballard (#2), Derek Morris (#53) and Zbynek Michalek (#4).
>> team release
A great idea by Phoenix, and something more teams should do.

The Coyotes' marketing staff have won all sorts of awards this season, and it'll be interesting to see if that group can put more bums in the seats in Arizona.

I vote for Morris, who's had a terrific season.



At 6:06 p.m., March 21, 2008, Anonymous K24 said...

The Rangers have had a similar award, the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award, since the 87-88 season. It's named after a NYPD cop who was shot and paralyzed while on duty. The award is voted on by fans as well.

At 5:18 p.m., March 22, 2008, Blogger PB said...

Hi James -

Even though Doan has had a career year as well, I would have to agree with you - Morris has my vote.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker