Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Stanley Cup officials

The following officials have been named to work the 2008 Stanley Cup Final. Their career playoff games are also listed (updated through round three).

Referees: Paul Devorski (147); Brad Watson (91); Dan O’Halloran (59); Marc Joannette (52).

Linesmen: Jean Morin (134); Jay Sharrers (113); Shane Heyer (97); Pierre Racicot (83).
The big surprise is no Bill McCreary, who had refereed the finals from 1994 to 2007. He had one blown call in Round 3 that stands out, the phantom roughing penalty on Stars youngster Mark Fistric in Game 1, which drew the ire of captain Brenden Morrow.

The ones that made the cut are vets, too, however: Devorski's been an official since 1987, O'Halloran since 1992, and Watson and Joannette have been on board since 1993.

The NHL's oldest referee, Kerry Fraser, who is 56, is sitting this one out, as are other tenured whistle blowers like Dave Jackson, Don Koharski, Dennis LaRue, Dan Marouelli, McCreary, Mick McGeough (who is retiring) and Rob Shick.



At 12:34 a.m., May 23, 2008, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thank god, McCreary has been a hack this postseason. Without his clear anti-Pens bias, Pittsburgh has to be pleased.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker