Thursday, June 12, 2008

And the winner is...
The 2007-08 NHL Awards

After seven days without hockey on television, it's awards day for the NHL. Unless otherwise noted, the PHWA votes on the trophies.

Here's a quick run through:

Vezina Trophy
Nominees: Martin Brodeur, Henrik Lundqvist, Evgeni Nabokov
Who will win: Brodeur
Who should win: Brodeur. Another stellar season — and certainly one with better numbers than the other nominees.
The 30 NHL GMs vote on this one

Norris Trophy
Nominees: Zdeno Chara, Nicklas Lidstrom, Dion Phaneuf
Who will win: Lidstrom
Who should win: A no-brainer here. Chara had a great bounce-back season, and certainly deserves a nomination, but Lidstrom ran away with this award yet again. Another remarkable regular season at age 37.

Calder Trophy
Nominees: Nicklas Backstrom, Patrick Kane, Jonathan Toews
Who will win: A tough call, but I think sleight 19-year-old Kane takes it.
Who should win: Kane. It's very close between all three, but Kane did produce more goals and points than Backstrom while playing on a weaker Chicago team.

Lady Byng Trophy
Nominees: Pavel Datsyuk, Jason Pominville, Martin St. Louis
Who will win: Datsyuk
Who should win: A defenceman, at some point.

Selke Trophy
Nominees: Pavel Datsyuk, John Madden, Henrik Zetterberg
Who will win: Datsyuk
Who should win: Patrick Sharp, as per my work done here. Zetterberg would be my second choice.

Hart Trophy
Nominees: Jarome Iginla, Evgeni Malkin, Alex Ovechkin
Who will win: Ovechkin
Who should win: I'm actually curious to see how many first-place votes don't go to Ovechkin, who dominated the league in so many ways this season that this should be a landslide win.

Jack Adams Award
Nominees: Mike Babcock, Bruce Boudreau, Guy Carbonneau
Who will win: Another one that's very close, but I think the sentimental choice, Boudreau, wins.
Who should win: Babcock. I think it's high time coaches aren't penalized for having decent rosters to work with.
NHL broadcasters vote on this one

Masterton Trophy
Nominees: Jason Blake, Chris Chelios, Fernando Pisani
Who will win: Pisani
Who should win: No one's picking him for a variety of reasons, but I think Chelios's incredible dedication to hockey is the only reason he's able to play at this level at age 46. (Comment rescinded if this has become award only for the injured or infirm.)

Sean Leahy has the tallies of the Blogger Awards, which I apparently voted on at some point. Hopefully my choices there were the same as those outlined here.

I'll be discussing my picks, talking with a few guests and taking questions at FanHouse on Thursday afternoon in the lead up to the night's big gala in Toronto:




At 3:01 a.m., June 12, 2008, Blogger zeus said...

The masterton has really become an absurb award. Basically if you're choosing between blake and pisani you're choosing whose disease is worse, and if you're choosing chelios you're kind of making light of the struggles those two went through. The NHL could find a way to honor all three without making it a competition.

At 6:21 a.m., June 12, 2008, Anonymous Ryan said...

I think he deserves it, but I'll be surprised if Datsyuk wins the Selke. I just don't see how he'll get enough Eastern Conference votes, and if he gets too many Western Conference first choices, there's even an outside chance he plays spoiler and keeps his teammate from winning.

At 12:43 p.m., June 12, 2008, Anonymous Anonymous said...

"The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player that best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey."

Perseverance— Blake check, Chelios check, Pisani check.

Dedication to the game— Blake check, Chelios check, Pisani check.

Sportsmanship— Blake X, Chelios X, Pisani check.

Pretty simple. Pisani should win no?

At 10:08 p.m., June 12, 2008, Blogger HBomb said...

Jason Blake takes the Masterton. Oiler fan bias or not, I think that's a complete crock.

The buzz of the "C" word combined with the Toronto factor won this award for Blake. However, he was on a pill-based treatment and didn't miss any time. Yet on the other end of the scale, you had a guy who lost 40 pounds at one point and his career was in doubt. Yet, somehow, he was playing again by December.

Pisani deserved it more. Plain and simple. It's borderline insulting he didn't win the award. About the only thing that could make me more upset would be if Glenn Anderson gets denied Hall of Fame induction again next Tuesday....


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker