Sunday, July 06, 2008

Players elect for arbitration

Here's the list of 15 restricted free agents who elected for salary arbitration by yesterday's deadline:

Boston: Dennis Wideman
Carolina: Chad Larose
Colorado: Marek Svatos
Detroit: Valtteri Filppula
Florida: Jay Bouwmeester
Minnesota: Pierre-Marc Bouchard, Stephane Veilleux
Nashville: Ville Koistinen
NY Islanders: Sean Bergenheim
NY Rangers: Dan Fritsche
Ottawa: Antoine Vermette
St. Louis: Jay McClement
San Jose: Marcel Goc
Washington: Brooks Laich, Shaone Morrisonn

These players are now ineligible to receive an offer sheet from another team. The final deadline for club-elected salary arbitration is at 5 p.m. today.

In general, arbitration awards are one-year deals, although it's possible for a two-year contract to be given out. The term is determined by the party which did not elect for arbitration (in the case of these 15 players, in other words, the team will decide on a one- or two-year deal).

Jay Bouwmeester and Pierre-Marc Bouchard have had the most difficult negotiations to this point, with both rumoured to be traded in the past few months. That may still happen should the arbitration decision not be to the team's liking.

Dan Tolensky has much more on arbitration, including a look at who could be taken by their teams (Kari Lehtonen, Pascal Leclaire, R.J. Umberger, Christian Ehrhoff etc.).

Labels: ,


At 12:14 p.m., July 06, 2008, Anonymous Kevin Forbes said...

That ruling on Khristich in the Tolensky post is really interesting too. Really sheds some light on how the process is done.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker