Sunday, February 28, 2010

2010 Olympics: Picking the tournament all-stars

There are a trio of end-of-tournament awards that they hand out in the men's Olympic hockey tournament: One for the MVP, one set of three Directorate Awards for each position and then a media all-star team.

Here's who took home that hardware in 2006, when Sweden won over the Finns:

Media all-stars: Antero Niittymaki, Nicklas Lidstrom, Kimmo Timonen, Teemu Selanne, Saku Koivu and Alex Ovechkin

MVP and top goalie: Niittymaki
Top defenceman: Kenny Jonsson
Top forward: Selanne

There's still one game to go so this may change a bit, but here are my picks for 2010:

Media all-stars: Ryan Miller, Brian Rafalski, Shea Weber, Pavol Demitra, Zach Parise and Jonathan Toews

MVP: Miller if the U.S. wins or a top Canadian forward who makes an impact in the final if they win (Toews, Heatley, Iginla, Crosby and Getzlaf are in the running)

Top goalie: Miller
Top defenceman: Rafalski
Top forward: Could be Parise if he has a big game or one of the aforementioned Canadian forwards

The tournament scoring leaders are all listed here and goaltending leaders are here.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Links to this post:

Create a Link


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker