Tuesday, April 30, 2013

2013 NHL Awards picks

Putting together an awards ballot is always difficult, but with only the 48-game sample size, things were made much tougher this year.

How big is a big enough sample size? What do you do with Crosby and other players like Letang who were outstanding but injured for a few weeks?

After a few hours of consideration, here's what I ultimately came up with. Complaints can be directed to Dave Shoalts at The Globe and Mail:

(1) NHL Trophies

HART TROPHY ("to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team") 

1. Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2. Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus
3. Jonathan Toews, Chicago
4. Alex Ovechkin, Washington
5. John Tavares, NY Islanders

NORRIS TROPHY ("to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position") 

1. Ryan Suter, Minnesota
2. Kris Letang, Pittsburgh
3. PK Subban, Montreal
4. Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Phoenix
5. Dan Hamhuis, Vancouver

CALDER TROPHY ("to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition") 

(Note: An eligible player cannot have played more than 25 NHL games in any single preceding season nor in six or more games in each of any two preceding seasons. A player must not have attained his 26th birthday by Sept. 15 of the season in which he is eligible.)

1. Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida
2. Brandon Saad, Chicago
3. Jonas Brodin, Minnesota
4. Brenden Dillon, Dallas
5. Brendan Gallagher, Montreal 

LADY BYNG TROPHY ("to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability") 

1. Rob Scuderi, Los Angeles
2. Cody Franson, Toronto
3. Frans Nielsen, NY Islanders
4. Joe Pavelski, San Jose
5. Kris Letang, Pittsburgh

SELKE TROPHY ("to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game") 

1. Patrice Bergeron, Boston.
2. David Backes, St. Louis.
3. Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles.
4. Jonathan Toews, Chicago
5. Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit

(2) NHL All-Star Team

CENTER -- Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh. Jonathan Toews, Chicago. John Tavares, NY Islanders.

RIGHT WING -- Alex Ovechkin, Washington. Phil Kessel, Toronto. Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay.

LEFT WING -- Taylor Hall, Edmonton. Andrew Ladd, Winnipeg. Zach Parise, Minnesota.

DEFENSE -- Ryan Suter, Minnesota. Kris Letang, Pittsburgh. Dan Hamhuis, Vancouver.  Oliver Ekman-Larsson, Phoenix. PK Subban, Montreal. Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis.

GOALTENDER -- Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus. Henrik Lundqvist, NY Rangers. Jimmy Howard, Detroit.

(3) NHL All-Rookie Team

FORWARD -- Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida. Brandon Saad, Chicago. Brendan Gallagher, Montreal.

DEFENSE -- Brenden Dillon, Dallas.  Jonas Brodin, Minnesota. 

GOAL -- Jacob Markstrom, Florida. 


At 7:21 p.m., May 02, 2013, Blogger Don Johnson said...

James... leaving Yak off?

OK, I admit, I'm very biased. But surely he could get on the lists somewhere. He lead rookies in goal-scoring, after all.

At 9:50 p.m., May 03, 2013, Blogger James Mirtle said...

I tried to base my ballot on all around play and not simply goals and assists.


Yakupov will get a lot of votes from elsewhere.


Post a Comment

<< Home


Free Page Rank Checker
eXTReMe Tracker